Young Jun Moon

Chief Director
Korea Transport Institute

on stage

29 Mar 2018 , 14:10 - 15:55 @ Panel II

Transportation in the Future – Mobility on Land, Earth, and Air in the Upcoming Decades


Dr Young-Jun MOON is a Chief Director of the Dept. of National Transport Technology R&D of the Korea Transport Institute (KOTI). He joined KOTI in 1998, right after graduating from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) with a doctoral degree in Transportation Engineering. He started his career as a research engineer at the Agency for Defense Development (ADD) in 1987, developing Korean Surface to Air Missile (KSAM) for the military weapon systems. He participated in the ITS World Congress and the International Standard Organizations in ITS area as a leader of ITS R&D in Korea from 1999 for developing a variety of ITS projects. Since then, he has been involved in ISO/TC204 not only as an expert in WG14 for vehicle/roadway warning and control system, but also a Convenor of WG17 for nomadic & portable devices. He has been a member of the International Program Committee (IPC) of ITS World Congress since 2005 and also a chair of IPC for the 17th ITS World Congress in Busan. He joined a committee member of Transportation Research Board (TRB) on ITS in 2013. He became a member of National Science and Technology Commission (NSTC) under the President House in 2010, and a chair of Construction & Transportation Committee. He has also been a Consulting Director of the Transportation Division in PyeongChang 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games Organizing Committee since 2010. He was an Advisory Director to the Minister of Land, Infrastructure and Transport (MoLIT) from 2016 until 2017.

Other speakers

László Arany

Managing Director


Jeroen Bastiaanssen

PhD Candidate

Institute for Transport Studies, University of Leeds

Anat Lea Bonshtien

Chairman and Director

Fuel Choices and Smart Mobility Initiative, Office of the Prime Minister of Israel

Tomáš Cholinský

Project Manager

Dronet Plzen

Dr Jacob Cohen

Chief Scientist

NASA Ames Research Center

HE Dr Zoltán Cséfalvay

Permanent Representative of Hungary to the OECD

Ralf Diemer

Head of Brussels Office and Head of European Affairs Department

German Association of the Automotive Industry

Zoltán Dunai

Country Manager

Stadler Rail Group

Bartosz Dziugieł

Professor Assistant

Institute of Aviation

Bethan Garner

Future Mobility Design and Transformation Consultant


Tommaso Gecchelin

Founder, Inventor and CTO

NEXT Future Transportation Inc

Karel J Golta


Indeed Innovation GmbH

Květoslav Havlík

Coordinator of South Moravian Integrated Public Transport System


Vik Kachoria

President and CEO

Spike Aerospace Inc.

Bálint Kádár


Department of Urban Planning and Design, Budapest University of Technology and Economics

Wang Gu Kang


UVARC, Korea Aerospace Research Institute

Patrik Križanský


Emocity-Cluster for Smart City

Chang Whan Ma

Deputy Minister for Planning and Coordination

Ministry of Science and ICT, Republic of Korea

Levente Magyar

Deputy Minister

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Hungary

György Matolcsy


National Bank of Hungary

Michal Mazúr

PwC Drone Consultancy

Máté Mester

Tech Strategy, Policy and Regulatory Expert

Robert Missen

Head of Unit

DG MOVE, Innovation & Research, European Commission

Dániel Mráz

CEO Financial and Business Development Area

Prolan Group

Anton Ondrej

HR Director

Kia Motors Slovakia

Laura Paál

Senior Director

GE Digital

Dr József Pálinkás


National Research, Development and Innovation Office Hungary

Dániel Palotai

Executive Director & Chief Economist

National Bank of Hungary

Radim Polčák

Head of Institute

Institute of Law and Technology, Masaryk University

Jens Redmer

Principal for New Products


Attila Süle-Szigeti

HR & Marketing Lead

STILL Hungary

Tamás Szabó

Director of Product Management


Dr Alexandra Szalay-Bobrovniczky

Deputy Mayor

Municipality of the City of Budapest

Kornél Szepessy


HungaroControl Ltd

Teodor Varga

Levente Varga

Founder and CEO


Zsófia Végh


Budapest Business Journal

Dávid Vitézy


Hungarian Museum of Science, Technology and Transport

Lord David Willetts

Board Member

UK Research and Innovation

David Winickoff


Working Party on Bio-, Nano- and Converging Technologies, OECD